The Unbearable Whiteness of Being

By Maxjulian

March 23, 2006

Category: Uncategorized

1 Comment »

‘Everybody wants to be black and nobody wants to be black.’
Paul Mooney

Ain’t that the truth?! Is it just me or does it seem that black style and black flava are the real gasoline that fuel Amerikkka, with that dark, bubblin’ crude coming in a distant second? I mean, how we walk, how we talk; our lingo and its ‘presentation’ is what separates the white hipster from his nerdy sibling. CNN, ESPN, MSNBC and all the other lettered media organs spread the news real propa like, hyping the latest black linguistic revelation like Paul Revere. White folks can’t wait to get their hands on the latest Snoop Dog CD so they can start spitting game to their clueless, drooling frat bros.

If niggas claimed the intellectual property stolen by their betters and sold back to them/US, we’d all be ‘lil Bill Gates, with “pockets so phat it’ll look like they got tha mumps!”
The ‘tude I see so many white women sashaying around town with ain’t nuthin but the dumpster dived plate scrapings of the sistah just being her own black self.

But do black people want to be black? If black is defined as King’s English articulate and boringly, white-ily successful, then my observation would be not so many. I’ve detected in myself the ‘self-destruct’ program which I think is implanted like a computer chip in black folk at birth by this deadly society. One part of my ‘mission to heal’ is trying to extract from my person, every remnant of that programming through affirmations and observation of my thought life and behavior. I don’t have a ‘green thumb’; I got a ‘gray’ thumb, from plumbing my gray matter for these racist weeds.
____________________________________________________________________________________

From the ‘Unapologetically Thinking While Black’ File:

Here’s a shout out on some books that I’d never have been caught dead reading only a couple of months ago. Today, I’m not ashamed to say I’m reading ’em one at a time and I recommend them to anyone, including every victim of racism ship wrecked in Amerikkka:

Think and Grow Rich, Napoleon Hill
The Power of Positive Thinking, Norman Vincent Peale
How to Win Friends and Influence People, Dale Carnegie
Ask and It Is Given, Esther and Jerry Hicks

I’ve always had a poverty mentality; it just felt wrong to attempt to accumulate wealth. Well, since money is the medium of exchange for travel, for example, and the ability to travel is a freedom I desire madly, I needs straight MF’ing cash, BEOTCH. And I don’t mean no loan!

One Response to “The Unbearable Whiteness of Being”

  1. Thank you! Hugo and BitchLab kind of creamed me.

Leave a Reply

