From The VISIBLE MAN

By Maxjulian

June 1, 2006

Category: Uncategorized

13 Comments »

I guess I’ll dive into dissecting this (Laurie P’s responses in the post below). (Visible Man’s responses in bold type)

LP: ‘people of color’ is a rhetorical phrase designed to project the illusion of a non-white ‘rainbow coilition’.

Translation: Divide and conquer.

I am motivated not to help, but to share my perspective with the few American blacks left with the grit to fight for the basic liberties that are the right of every human being; and so are helping themselves. Consider my input as a document that you have come across. My input would/will not be ‘help’ unless you analyze it, so you will be the one ‘helping’; yourself.

Translation: I don’t like other black people but you….you’re better than they are. “Why, when I talk to you, I hardly notice that you’re black!”

Further translation: people that don’t ‘help themselves’ are undeserving and therefore I am not capable of feeling any sympathy for those I can categorize in this manner.

It is you who equate racism with wickedness.

Translation: I think that you are dysfunctional for noticing the toxic stench of my bigotry reeking across the globe and bothering to point it out.

See ‘redefining racism to feel good’ later.

I am racist inasmuch as I believe the every race has the right to exist, set up a closed society (if they please) and organize on the basis of race(if they please).

Translation: I am redefining what racism means in order to feel better about myself.

Further Translation: I will instantly feel different about ‘racism’ as I have misdefined it when one of these differently organized societies actually has something that I want.

If you and I were walking down a path in the mountains and we came across a cliff, and saw a child hanging off of it by one hand, would we not rush to their aid, regardless of their race?

Translation: I need to bring in an unrelated issue in order to try and obscure what differences exist.

LP: I don’t think that I can be better than a person, only luckier.

Translation: By saying that it is only luck that matters, not the choices that people make, I eliminate the possibility that there is something that I am doing to someone else that gets them pissed off at me, and therefore don’t have to consider changing anything.

If we lived in Zimbabwe, You would be the oppressor and I would the oppressed.

Translation: I am willing to drop historical context to bring up that before Zimbabwe was Zimbabwe, it was “Southern Rhodesia” until the civil war happened and it was just as much of a bigot-state as apartheid South Africa and America.

Further Translation: I will imply that oppression is a universality in order to minimize having to know about the society I live in.

In 400 years, for all I know my children’s children’s childrens’s children’s children might be oppressed by yours.

Translation: “It’s not so bad…maybe someday in the future, you’ll be ‘on top’.”

Further translation: My fear of you is justified because you could turn around and treat me the way I treat you.

It is important that all of us develop techniques against oppression. Who knows what the future will bring.

I am your political enemy, not your personal enemy.

As politics go, race relations is nothing but the allocation of resources and privileges based on power and I entertain no illusions regarding the moral value of equality.

Translation: I consider questions of morality separate from the issue of equality.

Visible, you got a blog yet?

13 Responses to “From The VISIBLE MAN”

  1. Wow. Visible Man is good.

  2. Thanks.

    I don’t have a blog yet…but after reading these responses, I think I probably should get one.

  3. good start, But is that the best you can do?!?!?

    here is a hint:

    http://www.africawithin.com/ani/excerpt_chap6.htm

  4. Laurie,

    I’ve read that Ani piece; I actually have the book. How and the HELL did YOU find out about that? I ran it on my blog last year of the year before. Was up?

  5. Know your enemy, max.

    I see that you place your hopes in the very moral structure of your oppressor and condemn him for violating it.

    Steinbeck said of America in one paragraph what took Ani a dozen. (Via his character Doc in his book Cannery row)

    “The things we admire most in men, kindness and generosity, openness, honesty, understanding, and feeling, are the concomitants of failure in our system. And those traits we detest, sharpness, greed, acquisitiveness, meanness, egotism, and self-interest, are the traits of success. And while men admire the quality of the first they love the produce of the second.”

  6. LP: To quote Malcolm X: “you call yourself appealing to his (the white man’s) moral conscience. He has NO morals, much less a conscience… how you gonna appeal to his moral conscience when he has neither MORALS or CONSCIENCE much less a moral conscience?!”

    Amen!

  7. Racism, is, like, totally over, it is, like, all good, you blacks need to, like, stop complaining.

  8. This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  9. This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  10. Visible definitely needs a blog. Laurie P does have a point via the Steinbeck quotation, though.

Leave a Reply

