All Hail WHIRLWIND!

By Maxjulian

June 17, 2006

Category: Uncategorized

6 Comments »

From my Tennis.Com article:

“Dr. J didn’t like me and looking back, I can’t blame him. He’d begun the American Tennis Association’s Junior Development Program back in the late 1940’s to train talented Negro players. Before Nick Bollettieri and the other post-modern tennis academies of our day, there was a small town doctor with a homemade court who, as a hobby, coached several generations of the best black tennis players this country ever produced. His goal was to create tennis champions who could break down the segregated doors of the country club tennis set. He did just that. I had my own prepubescent plans, which is why Dr. J and I didn’t see eye to eye. My idea of fun didn’t include a pro tennis career or a boot camp training regimen, at least, not as a toddler.”

Follow the link below to the published article:

http://www.tennis.com/features/general/features.aspx?id=1412

6 Responses to “All Hail WHIRLWIND!”

  1. Excellent and inspiring article! Were any of those photos of you Jules?

  2. That’s what I was wondering too!! there was one especially where I was laughing to myself at the kid with all the ‘tude…I was like, that *has* to be max!!! (or at least max’s brotha! 🙂

  3. Ps, it is a great article–I really enjoyed reading it!

  4. yeah, I’m the kid on the right next to Ashe. ‘tude for days,and it still ain’t changed, but that’s why ya’ll read my crazy black ass.

  5. What a treat to see this. I enjoy leaning more about your family and childhood.

    Congrats, too, on the publication …

    It’s such a powerful story Max, wow.

  6. thanks, Asa, BFP and Sea! It feels great to get a little validation from the Universe!!

Leave a Reply

