Fuck Race!!

I went to a potluck Friday night of my racial dialogue group. I co-facilitated a dialogue 6 years ago and the group has stayed together, breaking bread and continuing to converse about race and attending community events that somehow relate to our initial purpose. We do this once a month and its been held together by my good friend, Lady T.

An indigenous, Bolivian man, a newcomer to our group along with his wife, babtized our event with his presence. His wife translated our words for him, as his English was extremely limited.

We spoke about many things. One of the most noteworthy for me was a white woman in an interracial relationship who spoke of filling out applications for her children and being confronted with boxes for ‘Black’ and ‘White’ but no other designation. She was torn because her kids are both; she didn’t want to deny either, and she was concerned about funding that is dangled before one group or other based on the racial data collected by the state. This was a very difficult choice for her.

We spoke about “post traumatic slave disorder” and the ways in which black youth are hindered by well meaning, self-limiting parents through behaviors born of the plantation. We spoke about the perpetual focus on black people as “Problem People,” even among ourselves and how whites seem to escape being tagged racism’s PP’s.

One of our number sensitively asked our Bolivian friend if he had anything to say. His wife translated: ‘I think there is too much talk. We don’t have all of these problems in our country, it is not this complicated. Perhaps it is our difference in age, but we are not so interested in speaking but of doing what we need to do to make things better.”

This was a light bulb moment for me. I have been reading much about the Secret Government/New World Order/Illuminati, the real puppetmasters behind the Matrix presented to us as “reality.” I reflected on how world events are not as they seem, that what we hear on CNN is the phony trail to divert attention from what’s really going on.

I thought of my hero, James Emmanuel, the Paris expatriate who said: “race is something that needlessly occupies our minds…when we should be thinking about something else.” The issue of forms and racial designations and choices about who and what you are, who you should pledge allegiance to, what is your essence, who are your people – all of this became reordered in my mind.

“Somebody profits from this state of affairs – but not YOU!” Mr. Emmanuel bluntly told me.

Yep. Get it, got it…DONE!!!!!!!!

Race needlessly occupies our minds – as does nitpicking about it, about micro-critiquing racism, sexism, homophobia. But when do we get behind and underneath that which is shoved in our face, that which is designed to trigger our insecurities and fears? “What box should I check,” “black leftists scapping with black nationalists,” ” Can You Be Critical of Interracial Relationships if you Have a White Parent?,” “Can you be pro-black and have a preference for white partners?” These and other questions are reasonable within the confines of an insane asylum!

They are insane queries in the context of LEAVING this society behind and creating a New World. If one is still married to the status quo and its underpinnings, then obsessing about what box to check, or what color or gender people’s fuckmates are – makes perfect sense.

But who profits from people asking these silly ass questions? Who profits from people being mired at this level un-consciousness? Who profits from the ‘Black/White Binary?” Who publishes and PAYS for the scholarship that delineates the 32 flavors of whiteniggachinkkikemicwopleftrightcommiecapitalist that exist? Who wants us to remain segregated, mired in who’s ‘black oriented’ or ‘white oriented?’ It is those with the power to project images globally, project images on the moon, it is the land-takers and the soul-RAPERS who profit.

Keeping us mired in an interminable debate, as this brother from Bolivia simply pointed out, allows someone else to keep us at each other’s throats; meanwhile, they take the money and resources and run. I’ve been reading “The End of Blackness” by Debra Dickerson. I haven’t wanted to like the premise and there are many things about it that are troubling. But the premise, ‘that blackness and whiteness must end’ can’t be fucking argued. By me anyway.

They want us to hate each other. THEY want us to be ensconced in our racialized camps, surrounded by moats, drawbridges UP. They want us to call each other out and further subdivide ourselves: “I’m a ‘black oriented’ black person, though my mum is white; he’s a ‘white oriented’, pro-black person who has a preference for white women. Nah nah nah nanaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!”

This is the cranial calamity that pollutes us. This is why they keep the ‘OJ Simpson template’ handy, keep his name in white mouths. This is why they showed the notorious split screen when the OJ verdict was announced, the cameras at both a white and a black university to document (and manipulate) the responses of black and white folks.

They never want us to get together. They never want us to see our common humanity. They never want us to let go of our ‘legitimate’ grievances. They want us to remain divided/split/resentful. They never want us to resolve our problems, or better still, get to and at the ROOT of our problems and join hands.

They never want us to see who THEY ARE!!!

A tiny elite controls what we think and do. They are the ones who keep us focused on pettiness, nurture our pettiness, enshrine our pettiness. The media claim they only “give the people what they want.” Yep, all we want is war, hate, conflict, disease, murder, mayhem, rape, suicide bombings. We want Jeopardy, Wheel of Fortune, the NFL/NBA, sex crimes, serial killers and Cops.

We don’t want, but we GET, DU, stolen elections, false flag terror perpetrated by our government. Why aren’t we focused on that?!

This is bullshit. We are smarter than this; we can see through this. Our skins are different; so fucking what?! We can procreate with each other, can’t we?! It isn’t bestiality when whites, blacks , yellows, reds, browns mix and match. You may feel satisfaction being a proud, ‘black militant concubine’ for the ruling class; but you’re only seeing the trees, baby, and not the forest. You’re a righteous house nigga for Mr. Charlie and don’t even know it.

You can rock the Kente cloth, jigga, but for realz, you are leading your people into the ovens. I ain’t sayin’ racism ain’t real cuz we know it is; I’m sayin’ racism be THE “Master Tool” to keep the niggas’ niggas, the whiteys’ white and never the twain shall meet. As long as niggas are complaining about immigration, you know they got us by our brain nuts.

Henceforth, I will call out how THEY do what they do. I will no longer brick myself into a coffin of prideful, racialized ignorance. Race does not exist EXCEPT in our minds. It does manifest in our behaviour, until we free our minds of the criminal’s teaching. We may have different histories and herstories, but we are more alike than different. The lie is that we are fundamentally, terminally unique. Our failure to see this genetically engineered crop is precisely the soil our REAL-EST enemies are busy tilling.

When do niggas drop the rock and graduate to human? I’m taking my mind and my soul back. I’m wearin’ my cap and gown – TODAY!

44 Responses to “Fuck Race!!”

  1. yup, me too.

    “free your mind, and the rest will follow…. be colourblind, don’t be so shallow”

  2. Damn! I need all the love I can get; backat all three of ya.

    Love Love Love

  3. Max, I love you man, but this:

    “Secret Government/New World Order/Illuminati,”

    That’s a red herring designed to make people whio understand that the nation states are directed by a spreanational elite look crazy and consequently make people stop listening to them.

    It drove david Icke to the extreme of refusing to wear any color but…turquiose.

  4. typo:

    spreanational should read: Supranational

  5. Clampett: please clarify what you mean. I’m confused about what you’re saying about the red herring related to SG/NWO.

  6. You know I had heard that if you actually take a look at human genes the marker for skin color is MINISCULE in comparison to so many other things, yet it’s what so many of us use to create bias.

    I think the best way to “get over” race is to embrace race. I’m biracial Asian/White (there is no check-box for me either!), with a White husband, an adopted Black son, and a biological son. Let me tell you, when the shit hits the fan at our house, it ain’t about race. You get past all that real quick and cut to what’s important.

    I wish the world were more like that…and I like what you say that it all starts with our MINDS…but I think it’s also gotta come from the HEART.

  7. Happily,

    Bilderbergs, zee joos, the NWO, the illuminati; bbbbbullshit.

    Capitalism is what it is:

    The rich shape society in their own interests hence the only thing separating the elite from everyone else is their power.

    There is NO mystical evil here.

    I recommend the book ‘them’, by Jon Ronson. I couldn’t put it down without reading it cover to cover.

  8. Clampett: I can’t go along with you on that, homeslice. I’m reading several books right one of which is ‘Rule By Secrecy’ by Jim Marrs. Its full of info on those orgs you deride and more…Bohemian Grove, the Council on Foreign Relations, etc. You gotta bring (sounding like Kanye here) ‘some evi-di-ence!!

    Plus, weren’t you the one who had a post on the Federal Reserve? That’s secret in plain view that most Ameri-can’ts know nothing about as well. Gimme somethin’

  9. If I might just interject while some of the white people seem to be hand-clapping, colorblindness is not the answer. The problem is that Max is speaking from a point of view as a person who has tried to analyze and deconstruct racism, while many (white) people never even consider these steps and still reach the same conclusion. The conclusion is great, but without an understanding of the reason why it should be this way and acknowledgement of a white privilege power structure it’s not a great conclusion, it’s a copout for further introspection. We will continue to make these “gains” and then have to constantly fight the same battles because people like the ones agreeing with you will not have made it to this point yet, and their children won’t, and before you know it, we’re fighting the same battle that we’re fighting white now, with people saying stuff like “we’re all just human”, without regard to the systematic denigration of peoples of color.

    Also, I’m not ready to ally myself with white people who don’t want to “tear their children apart”, by only having their children choose “one race”. I have seen this happen time and time again and what that seems to be a vocalization of is that genuinely yes, they do what their children to acknowledge that they are also white, but they also want their children to be a part of the white privilege. They need mixed race people and “middle men ethnicities” as the cushion between this idea of race being drawn in lines of black and white. What inevitably happens in these situations is that in the end for the most part, those children identify and assimilate into this structure.

    Race really isn’t something that needlessly occupies my mind, I haven’t been on the Earth as long as your friend. I’ve only been here for 25 years and I’ve only be serious conscious of it for about 5. So, I still have a lot of work and decolonizing to do and I am not going to pass go and collect my 200 dollars until I do so.

    There is no funding that is dangled in the faces of white women’s mixed race children. Honestly, I wish that white people could get over this myth. It’s not dangled there and if your child chooses solely to identify as white or as biracial then they are not disqualified from getting scholarship or grant money. That’s not how the system works. I would like us to stop operating on “what we feel”, and start operating on what actually happens in these situations. Few people if any, who are white, poor and truly fit scholarship criteria are turned away because “they are white.” That may be how they feel about it, but there are several factors besides race that influence the handing out of scholarships, even in cases where race is specified.

    I myself could partake in the applying for any NDN scholarships, specifically those designated Cherokee, and any black scholarships, but there’s no guarantee that I would get them. Her logic is flawed, because she first needs to be assuming that being black is the only thing they consider a “plus”, and secondly that being black is enough to get the scholarship. This is how white people trick themselves into feeling sorry for themselves.

    Also, I’m not discounting her husband’s information on his own nation, but Bolivia has race problems, perhaps he doesn’t see them because he is in a position of privilege. Ask many South Americans of indigenous descent if they have race problems? You’ll find the answer is yes. So again, it’s all from the point of view of who is saying that there is no problem and the people really experiencing that part of the problem.

    Personally, my belief is that we’re controlled less by powerful elites, and more by what we feel to be true, instead of what we know to be fact. It’s like Biko said, “The most powerful weapon in the hands of the oppressor, is the mind of the oppressed.” At this point, I really believe that it’s less George Bush and more us. The us is we the people. Governments are made of people, and people make the decisions. Everyday people and some of them from the same backgrounds as you and I, and yet they still enact atrocities on each other.

    Lest we forget that not just elites pay for the scholarships of black people and people of color. We pay for them ourselves, working class people like you and me, and probably a lot of people commenting because we want our people to be able to have a say and to succeed and to be able to assimilate into this society. This is why my advocation is for not having a slice of the American pie, or the dream, it’s for rebuilding what the dream should be. Even I am not so naive to believe that anyone would agree with my vision any more than I agree with the current setup we have now.

    I am not sure if there is a “they” that wants us to hate each other, I am more convinced that the “they” is “we”. You dig? A lot of what is portrayed to us in the media is deliberate, but I think the deliberateness is mixed in with a healthy dose of “truly believing the issues are this way”. You can commit a hell of a lot more atrocities with a clear concious if you honestly believe that this is the way it is.

    Anyway, I just had to stop back by cause I missed you. I’ve been semi-busy. I’m ready to give up a lot of things, but I can’t give up, race, gender, sexuality, or class yet because I’m just becoming acquainted and familiarized with all the ways they have played out in my life and have helped to shape my identity. Race was a big part of my identity as a kid even though i didn’t know it, then. Gender, sexuality and class were big parts of my identity and still are.

  10. Nappy,

    Welcome to the new spot. I can’t go point by point, but let me assure you that there are deceitful Puppeteers doing wicked things that the average person can’t imagine. We have to seek out the information, unless you are blessed with people who will drop it in your lap.

    I have had some good teachers and some luck in finding things that just “appeared.” We are being conditioned to be as trifling, numb, distracted, confused and petty as we are. School is one of those places that teaches us that.

    My point about the white woman was not her confusion about federal funding, etc; it was that she was mired/paralyzed/brainlocked, as so many of us are. We try to learn the minutiae of race, but we’re blinded by the details, many of us, and can’t see the larger forces at play, see the intersection of the Isms and “the tactical uses” of them that keep us stuck.

    You make a good point about people going all ‘la-di-da’ colorblind and shit, therefore, not doing the hard work. What I’m advocating is seeing through the Matrix. I’ve had a glimpse, thus MY position has changed. I don’t expect people to believe there’s no more work to be done, though some will. Actually, it gets harder from here. Eyes have to be opened wider; the internal antennae has to be stretched further, higher; the ear has to be pressed closer to the ground to hear the subtler nuances. Intuition has to be nurtured and developed.

    Not everybody is where I am; I’m just reporting what I’m experiencing. Those who are taking this as a cop-out were probably looking for one anyway.

    Nother point: I can only take care of my side of the street. I ain’t nobody’s leader, standard bearer, role model. Take what you like and leave the rest. We’re all grown folks, I’m assuming. I ain’t raisin’ no children on my blog.

    Trust me, Nap, on this one: there is a “THEY.” Think there isn’t: dig into what happened on Septemeber 11th, at Waco and all the other crimes of our State. Dig the use of depleted uranium in Iraq and Kosovo for example. Check out the birth defects and cancers that are occuring in Iraq and in the States, as servicemen and women bring their diseases back to contaminate their offspring.

    Our government is poisoning the troops they want us to support. When you learn what they do, the callousness, the viciousness – behavior that is contrary to all they say – then you have to dig deeper, cuz their hypocritical machinations and action are deeper still. And it isn’t wrapped up in a bow for our viewing pleasure.

    Peace, Sistah!

  11. Hey – I had a longer comment written, but lost it somehow when it was halfway written. Quick recap:
    that ‘we don’t split hairs on race as you Americans do, we just try to see what we can do to improve the situation’ is a common phrase in Latin America. Most commonly, it is deployed as a way to deflect attention from racist practices. It’s great if this guy you met really has moved beyond race and really is doing antiracist work or work on behalf of nonwhite populations in Bolivia. But I don’t trust the phrase, since it usually means let’s put our heads in the sand and say we’re working for change when really, we’re not.

  12. I don’t want a cop out because I’m invested. But I do think you gotta see the identities, work on it, then throw it away. Underneath all the separation and the oppressors and those targeted is one race, the human race.

    Understanding that does not mean the work to end oppression is stopped. It can be part of healing it if you don’t skip the steps, like ya say.

    I don’t know what all Max has stumbled upon and I’m interested in what he’s read lately. To Nappy, I’m with you in that I’ve only had seven years of working on my oppressor shit, (gender conditioning etc)–and I’m not done yet. But when anti-racism workers can have an aha moment and really get it that we are all one. It’s a good day.

    Not to be colorblind, eck, I hate that. But to build relationships and heal–returning to our birthright–which in my narrow minded opinion is to get to enjoy and be close to everybody. “Anybody and everybody” somebody said recently. 🙂

  13. The Bolivian dude, to my eyes, was indigenous. He looked like a Native; definitely wasn’t a white cat.

    I don’t believe in any kind of blindness. I believe in thinking in terms of: there are a series of transparencies laid on top of each other. At bottom is our humanity, which we tend to downplay because we are too busy feeling the transparencies nearer the surface (skin).

    Bundini Brown, who was Muhammed Ali’s cornerman and shaman used this saying when Ali went to Africa to fight George Foreman: “From the root to the fruit!” This whole racial conversations begins at the fruit and never quite gets back to the root, because we are so attached to our little identities. And I plead guilty on that count, too. We are so stuck, so identified with the surface, that we refuse to see the baby drowning on the bottom of the pool.

  14. Welcome to the new spot. I can’t go point by point, but let me assure you that there are deceitful Puppeteers doing wicked things that the average person can’t imagine. We have to seek out the information, unless you are blessed with people who will drop it in your lap.

    Yes, there are deceitful puppeteers but the point I was trying to make is that we are complicit (we as in this country) in going along with these plans. I mean I have read about various things happening in our country, our history as it relates to the development of other countrys, and various atrocities we have committed, but armies are made up of people. I don’t think you have to try very hard to pull the strings when the system is embedded the way it is in our society.

    Also, let me clarify. I wasn’t saying that you doing it was a cop-out. I was saying that people who haven’t done the work to reach that point use it as a copout. As much as I believe we are all human, I think even biologically as our brains develop the surface level of sameness in human beings is overestimated. It’s not that we are all unique snowflakes, because I don’t believe that at all. However, the way that different groups are socialized does not equal to sameness. I’m not just talking about in America either. I’m talking about globally. There’s a surface level sameness, but if you delve deeper their are differences in forms of logic, in the way brains develop in different societies. I’m not saying use that for race, but I’m saying even our brains are wired in different ways. I don’t think we need sameness to have unity.

    I’m simply saying the “they” is also comprised of “us.” The way that I recognize that some of my ancestors could be seen as “land rapers” and soul stealers. You know what I’m saying? I personally, am really not trying to distance myself from this ugliness, because I feel if I do, then the little atrocities I commit on an everyday basis become something that I can justify. This is me speaking personally, and I don’t want to do that. I don’t want to become apathetic.

    That’s nice Sea, but honestly what you’re saying is something that’s completely ridiculous. No, you don’t throw the identities away. These identities, outside of my blackness, or my southern-ness or my American-ness, are important. I’m not willing to tell someone in Africa that identifies as Massai, Igbo, or Sudanese that their identity is unimportant and they have throw that away to get to the point of us all being human beings. I can have identities and still recognize the need for unity in people. We don’t replace separateness with sameness. No, sorry. Can’t do it. Because a large part of the way they are socialized, their values, everything comes from being a part of this identity and living a certain reality. Physiologically, we even develop differently and I’m not even kicking some eugenics stuff, I’m talking about the bare basics of human identity not being boiled down to “all the same”, because we don’t have to do that. We should recognize all the differences. Some members of the human race, haven’t been treated as humans. I don’t think skin is a transparency either. I think we’ll just agree to disagree, Max. I understand what you’re trying to say, I just can’t agree with it because it seems really Americentric and middle class centric and privilege and it ignores the reality that a lot of people “can’t just throw that away”, because their identities are more than skin. You can’t tell people who are living realities that are social constructs, while the social constructs are at play to just forget about it.

    Not to mention just because one is aware of race, doesn’t mean that one is mired and obsessed with race or that the awareness and love of self negates the love of other races.

    The Bolivian dude, to my eyes, was indigenous.

    You can’t tell what race someone is just by looking at them. I don’t think most people would think in a million years that my father is who he is simply by looking at me. If you would like more information on Bolivia’s racism google Bolivia, Racism, Indigenous people. I have to agree with Professor Zero on that one.

    Also, This whole racial conversations begins at the fruit and never quite gets back to the root, because we are so attached to our little identities.

    Our identities are not little, and they make up more than being skin Max. I understand you’re trying to move past this point or that you have moved past it, but you don’t have to minimize the impact that identities have on people around the world to do so. You know what I mean? I’m not prepared to say to a cuban, your identity is unimportant. I’m not willing to say to someone who is Hindu, his identity is unimportant. My belief is that our roots will never be able to be chalked up to one tree and I don’t think it should have to be in order for us to understand race and how it can work differently in our society.

  15. Nappy: There’s no question that we are complicit in the system’s functioning; I’m simply saying that there are forces that orchestrate our lives that assist us in our complicity. Education, advertising, film, TV – all this and more are not passive players, but tools of the ruling elite to dumb us down, create patriotic idiots and conformist consumers. We are responsible for our actions, but someone has created a Matrix program that most haven’t decoded.

    I believe our ‘attachment’ to our separate identities is truly the root cause of our problems. We don’t just recognize our differences: we fetishize them, we fight and kill over letting folks know who we are. What’s the difference between a Crip and a Blood? Nothing, but a do-rag, really, but they kill each other over that difference. What about an Israeli or a Palestinian?

    I’m saying the logic, that tells us that genetically, or culturally, we are SO different is bullshit. In 1939-45, German Nazis were slaughtering Jews; in 2006, Israeli Jews are slaughtering Palestinians. For what? Because they are so different?! Its been proven that race doesn’t exist. But our attachment to it, which has been stage managed, and what we build and have built up around it, the fears, the insecurities – have killed millions and millions of humans.

    As we delve ever deeper into “knowing” our prodigious selves, more bodies keep dropping. It is our “American privilege’ that allows us to pursue heavy identities to the detriment of the planet.

    Who and what I am is small compared to earth murder, genocide, the hijacking of this government, Darfur, Uganda, Gaza, Lebanon, Iraq, Iran, modern day slavery, here and abroad.

    I’m not telling anybody to forget anything. I’m telling people to see the madness of what’s going and figure out how racial identity serves them. Or doesn’t. I think for many, its like giving up a drug, a crutch. They can’t imagine letting go of the attachment. I’m talking about white, black, everybody. Clearly, white folks, whether they claim a racial consciousness or not, need to scour their mental colons and come to grips with their value systems covert and overt.

    Nappy, there’s one planet/tree. Its being destroyed as we speak. If man and woman don’t figure out their commonalities pretty fucking quick, we’re going to need an orbiting space ship to keep us alive. We need to get at what’s really important, prioritize it and let go of that which is crap. They say when people are dying, a lot of shit gets thrown out the window because their days are numbered. They have conversations with people they’d fallen out with, they do things they failed to do for much of their lives. They dropped the bullshit and the cream of life rose to the top. We’re gonna have to get that sort of consciousness, awareness. We’re gonna have to grow beyond our cages.

    One day.

  16. I believe our ‘attachment’ to our separate identities is truly the root cause of our problems. We don’t just recognize our differences: we fetishize them, we fight and kill over letting folks know who we are. What’s the difference between a Crip and a Blood? Nothing, but a do-rag, really, but they kill each other over that difference. What about an Israeli or a Palestinian?

    I think that’s a gross oversimplification of a really complex issue. I can’t commit to that.

    I’m saying the logic, that tells us that genetically, or culturally, we are SO different is bullshit. In 1939-45, German Nazis were slaughtering Jews; in 2006, Israeli Jews are slaughtering Palestinians. For what? Because they are so different?! Its been proven that race doesn’t exist. But our attachment to it, which has been stage managed, and what we build and have built up around it, the fears, the insecurities – have killed millions and millions of humans.

    I’m not disagreeing with that, what I’m disagreeing with is that we aren’t different culturally, and regardless of race as a social construct, the Navajo are different than the Dinka and they shouldn’t have to be “the same” to respect each other. Plus, the deal with Palestine and Israel is not simply one of race, anyone living in those realities could tell you that.

    I think you’re misunderstanding me when I say we develop differently, what I mean is our brains develop differently based on the experiences that we have. Which means that, yes we are actually different even though we are all human beings, based on the experiences we have.

    It is our “American privilege’ that allows us to pursue heavy identities to the detriment of the planet.

    That would be true, if I were only talking about America. Again, I don’t think we’re disagreeing here. What I’m saying is, it’s too simplistic to chalk this all up to race and to say that if we simply ignore, abolish or forget about race any of these things will end. They won’t. We get rid of racism, classism and sexism still exist, vice versa.

    If man and woman don’t figure out their commonalities pretty fucking quick, we’re going to need an orbiting space ship to keep us alive. We need to get at what’s really important, prioritize it and let go of that which is crap.

    Again, not disagreeing, but identity is more than crap. Gender isn’t crap. Race isn’t crap. We’ll have to right some of these wrongs before we simply decide to say fuck it. Race in and of itself can be detrimental, but it can also be positive. It is like any other things, some people benefit from it and some people don’t.

    People are talking to each other everyday, and sharing “cream of life”, but at the same time this does not at all make for a happy world free of isms. Even in the most homogenous populations there is conflict, see Iceland. You can say let’s abolish this gender shit, but the world hasn’t abolished it, yet. If everyone said, “Okay there’s no more gender?” Do you think they’d lose their consciousness of the fact that there was indeed a view in past years that encompassed gender or that someone wouldn’t come up with this view and based on common knowledge people wouldn’t go along with it? It’s almost like the people who believe that once old white people die, there won’t be any more racism. Or once we all mix, there won’t be anymore racism. You can say, let’s abolish this class shit, and I’m not talking about using it as a crutch. I’m talking about looking at reality as it is right now and telling me how saying, “There is no race.” Affects people who are dealing with race as a socialized reality, or people who are dealing with class a poor reality.”

    The South was full of people who at any time could “get along with each other”, who still talk, who integrate and still have horrible ideas. Even among the people who see others as “humans” there are still the classifications and hierarchies of a society. I don’t actually see identity as a cage. So I guess this is where our opinions differ. I can see its potential to be a cage, and also the potential for being a vehicle for change and pride, and a pride that does not have to be at the expense of someone else.

    The earth isn’t simply being destroyed because we can’t find commonalities, there are a lot of roots and a lot of problems and I am not comfortable saying that there is one or a main one or a big huge one that outweighs any of the other ones. It’s like a sermonizing of a real and serious issue that has many causes besides simply “humans are greedy and selfish.”

    What I’m asking is, “I agree that we’re all human, but how does that change the reality of what people are actually experiencing based on a socialized society.”

    You think wars will stop when humans realize we are all human. I think that that’s not true. I think many of our soldiers realize the people in Iraq are humans, and that doesn’t stop them from bombing them anyway.

  17. Also, I just wanted to simplify all that so you don’t really have to read it. What I’m saying is, “Just because we’re in the same family, doesn’t mean we’re the same person.”

    Okay, back to playing Sims. We have to talk sometime offline. I think I will call you soon, perhaps we can hang out.

  18. Nap: Why do you think Marines (and other military personnel) are deliberately trained, are thoroughly indoctrinated into believing that they are fighting ‘Gooks,’ ‘Towel Heads’ or ‘Sand Niggers?’ The better to dehumanize the enemy. Its easier to kill a ‘cock roach’ than a person. Basic training is about separating the recruit from their ability to empathize, replacing that empathy with “a hard heart, that kills anyTHING that gets in their way.

    Race is in the mind; its not a biological truth, it is a social truth, a socialized one. Its a lie, which is killing millions. That lie has to be exploded. I’m not saying that everyone is identical; but we are all humans with different.

    Metaphor: a tennis coach was thinking about his students and their lack of progress. They came in with a million complaints about this problem or that (my backswing, my footwork, etc) The instructor addressed all of these issues with a flood of directions based on his observations. And the students failed to improve much. Then one day he decided to talk less and observe more. And he had a lightbulb moment: if he got his students to simply focus on the BALL, ALL of the varied issues went away. He discovered this by paring down his instruction to one directive: watch the ball, see the seams of the ball.

    Guess what? The footwork and backswing and all the other problems resolved themselves because the student SAW the BALL. The students only THOUGHT they had ‘so many, varied, diverse, amazingly complex problems.’ They only thought, the instructor only THOUGHT he needed to tell them 1001 different ways to move this or change that. But he cut through all of the bullshit and conveyed a simple idea – that worked – KEEP YOUR EYE ON THE BALL!.

    The same principle applies to this discussion. You think and many others think its so complicated, because they’ve not had the time/distance/experience, or they are lost in the details. Its very easy to get lost in the individual trees and forget we’ve entered a forest. Very easy. We’re taught to resist seeing that we’re even in a forest. That’s a myopic belief system that the planet can’t afford anymore.

    I don’t say don’t see that there are trees; I say try to recognize that as unique trees, we all live in a forest, a forest that links us. Any fire in that forest will link us – fatally if we cease to put it out and see that fire for what it is.

    Again, we are not dying from the fact of difference; we are dying from our unhealthy attachment to our difference, our inability to see beyond it, to cut through the details of it and see truer truths.

    I’m not saying that “let’s abolish anything.” I’m saying let’s put on some glasses and see that we all have faces and mouths and noses. Yes, the Navajo and the Dinka and the Crip and the Blood have differences; and they have far more commonalities worthy of noting as well. It is their differences that are exploited, that are ‘Divided and conquered’ by The Man. I’m saying “YES we are different and YES we are the same.” Why? Because its true. But someone has taught us to only see one side and NOT the other; to the point where black men who wear a red cloth and a blue cloth will kill each other on sight. Because they are DIFFERENT! That is pure INSANITY.

    We aren’t identical, that is true. We have different ways of being which should be respected. But we have been taught to make a religion out of our differences. The white indentured servant had a lot in common with his enslaved black brethren; until massa whispered in his ear and told him he was better than, different than; told him he was WHITE. Why did he tell the indentured servant that? To better exploit them both.

  19. great comments.

    I’m such a fence-sitter. I see everyone’s point of view here. Identity is complex. We are all part of the human race. We are all oppressor and oppressed. We have to do the work. I think eventually it would be great if everyone came to the conclusion that humanity is what is most important, and so we need to respect everyone based on that – including respecting and honouring differences and complexities, because they are important too.

    Just another idea that popped into my mind: there is STRONG anti-american sentiment in Bolivia, particularly since their election recently of an indigenous socialist, Evo Morales, and their alignment with Venezuela and Hugo Chavez. bolivia is still a hugely poor country, second poorest in south america, and a land-locked country, which is never good for trade, and american trading with latin america hasn’t helped this situation. this could have consciously or subconsciously infiltrated his comment a bit.

  20. If I might just interject while some of the white people seem to be hand-clapping, colorblindness is not the answer. The problem is that Max is speaking from a point of view as a person who has tried to analyze and deconstruct racism, while many (white) people never even consider these steps and still reach the same conclusion. The conclusion is great, but without an understanding of the reason why it should be this way and acknowledgement of a white privilege power structure it’s not a great conclusion, it’s a copout for further introspection.

    I see where you’re coming from Max but I’m more or less with Nappy on this. A large part of Bolivia wishes to secede, to get away from the Native Americans. C.o.n.t.e.x.t. I do not know enough about this man in Portland to be able to guess where he is coming from with his comment. All I am saying is that that comment is one of the very most common, false-progressive, middle class strategies for denial of racist practices which exist in Latin America. Which doesn’t mean that that was what this guy meant by it–and obviously, Max realized something very different from that when he heard it–which is fine too.

    Growing beyond our cages is great, but will not solve enough in and of itself.

  21. “let’s put on some glasses and see that we all have faces and mouths and noses”

    Well, one would hope that people in powerful positions would do so.

    But this is the kind of sentiment that’s fueled aversive racism in white liberal society for generations–all the way back to abolition. And has that idea of tolerance erased ‘otherness’ and made racism a thing of the past? No.

    In fact, all it does is dismiss what a people stand for, which is pretty much what you’re doing when you compare the shoah to what’s facing Palestinians now. Or in fact, by comparing whole cultures like the Navajo and Dinka to criminal organizations like the Crips and the Bloods.

    Why is understanding others on their own terms such a burden (especially to people who have the resources to educate themselves)?

  22. P.S. Here come some fragments from Nappy’s comments, which I’d like to underline.

    I understand what you’re trying to say, I just can’t agree with it because it seems really Americentric and middle class centric and privilege and it ignores the reality that a lot of people “can’t just throw that away”, because their identities are more than skin. You can’t tell people who are living realities that are social constructs, while the social constructs are at play to just forget about it.

    You can’t tell what race someone is just by looking at them. N.B. in Latin American countries with large Native American populations, you can turn mestizo or even honorary white by speaking (good) Spanish, wearing Western clothes, eating middle class food, and so on.

    The South was full of people who at any time could “get along with each other”, who still talk, who integrate and still have horrible ideas. Even among the people who see others as “humans” there are still the classifications and hierarchies of a society. I don’t actually see identity as a cage. So I guess this is where our opinions differ. I can see its potential to be a cage, and also the potential for being a vehicle for change and pride, and a pride that does not have to be at the expense of someone else. N.B. Nappy says ‘was full’, I would say IS full.

  23. You are further down the path than I in that case.

    Here’s something:

    Pike’s Letter to Mazzini, 1871.

    I doubt it, it looks forged because it is dead on balls accurate up to today and all the links go the same page, ‘three world wars’

    But if it’s for real; it’s the heaviest thing I’ve ever seen.

    auxillaries on pike:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Pike

    http://albertpike.org/

    The BIS’s working papers would reveal patterns, but it’s in the open…their lies will tell the truth.

  24. People, for the record, are gonna have to do what they need to/want to do for themselves. I wasn’t writing a prescription for other people to pick up and follow. I’m talking mainly about me and to those who are in the same zip code.

    I’ve immersed myself in my culture, white culture and to a much lesser extent, studied Native culture. I’ve studied politics and history, academically for what that was worth (not much) and informally. What I’ve studied most is human behavior. And the great paradox is that we are so differently alike.

    Recumb, I certainly wasn’t calling Navajo’s criminals if that’s what you’re trying to imply; and frankly, to speak of Crips and Bloods as if they aren’t a part of family’s, communities, as if they aren’t people and don’t have stories ain’t too smart either. We all have stories worthy of being told.

    I’m not going to retard my thought because others can’t see things I’ve sweated bullets to learn. I’m not going to participate in a dead paradigm because some folks like it too much, or are blind. I don’t need anyone to teach me that life is precious, that each being, each culture is amazing and enriches the planet – when we aren’t killing it. I love the mix of humanity and I’ve seen some of it.

    Krishnamurti talks about how the very division in our minds of an other, is the beginning of conflict. I believe that. I believe that’s the moment of conception. The pregnancy isn’t visible at that point; the belly swells and the bullets fly, the bomb drops, the words snap and the hand slaps. The knife is plunged to the handle.

    I think some people are confused and that’s a part of the master plan. And I think some of us are so over-committed to the racial dance steps that we’ve been gifted, that freestyle or another form is unthinkable. We’re trapped!

  25. BTW, I don’t know, I’m socratic like that.

    But, If that stuff is true… some people would say that offing all of them would prevent to final collapse of humanity…but such a person would be branded as a terrorist and prosecuted as such.

  26. oh, HERE is SOMETHING.

    it might be fiction,might not. but regardless, it’s a damn good read

    http://www.worldnewsstand.net/history/redsymphony.html

  27. a taste:

    “Theory, pure theory. Speaking between ourselves, take any annual handbook concerning the economics of any country and divide rents and the total income by all those receiving wages or salaries, and you will see what an extraordinary result emerges. This result is the most counter-revolutionary fact, and we must keep it a complete secret. This is because if you deduct from the theoretical dividend the salaries and expenses of the directors, which would be the consequence on the abolition of ownership, then almost always there remains a dividend which is a debit for the proletariat. In reality always a debit, if we also consider the reduction in the volume and quality of production. As you will now see, a call to strike, as a means for achieving a quick improvement of the well-being of the proletariat is only an excuse; an excuse required in order to force it to commit sabotage of Capitalistic production. Thus to the contradictions in the bourgeois system are added contradictions within the proletariat; this is the double weapon of the revolution, and it — which is obvious — does not arise of itself : there exists an organization, chiefs, discipline, and above that there exists stupidity. Don’t you suspect that the much-mentioned contradictions of Capitalism, and in particular the financial ones, are also organized by someone? . . . By way of basis for these deductions I shall remind you that in its economic struggle the proletarian International coincides with the financial International, since both produce inflation, and wherever there is coincidence there, one should assume, is also agreement.”

  28. The taste is to my conspiratorial taste.

  29. Max, I’m sorry I can’t do better. We are impotent against these people man, it sucks. I feel like we are sunk sometimes.

    Your idea of ‘two wings of the same bird’ might be fractal, though.

  30. fractal
    Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.0.1) – Cite This Source new!
    frac‧tal  /ˈfræktl/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[frak-tl] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation
    –noun Mathematics, Physics.
    a geometrical or physical structure having an irregular or fragmented shape at all scales of measurement between a greatest and smallest scale such that certain mathematical or physical properties of the structure, as the perimeter of a curve or the flow rate in a porous medium, behave as if the dimensions of the structure (fractal dimensions) are greater than the spatial dimensions.

    Clampett: why you always got me looking at the dictionary? And trying to figure out what you mean? Is I or is I ain’t fractal?

  31. It means that the choice between the democrat and republican city councilmen might be the same false choice bewteen the nations, or between communism and capitalism.

    In the words of KC:

    “all powerful concepts manipulated by elites”

  32. Put ‘fractal’ in google images.

    see how the shape is unique and asymmetrical, that’s what confuses us in terms of society, we can’t see the pattern,the logic, and the methods used to smash us and turn against each other.

    I might be misusing the word, but I hope you get my message.

    ‘they’ must piss themselves laughing at the olympic games for ‘they’ have created a world of Cutthroats who just can’t see.

    It’s like Frye’s idea of the Birdgage, we can focus on each wire microscopically and never see why the bird is trapped, but once we see that the wires form a cage, it’s like….oh.

    Fuck the tyranny of evil men.

  33. “and frankly, to speak of Crips and Bloods as if they aren’t a part of family’s, communities”

    Yes, I actually do realize that and meant to point that out to you when you boiled down the ‘insanity’ to blood shed over the color of do-rags.

    The places that identity come from in those instances are economic and cultural–and different from the cultural identity of a whole group.

    So I’m not sure I understand how you recognize the complexity of the situation for the Crips and Bloods–and yet embrace colorblind strategy. But whatever works for you.

  34. The same principle applies to this discussion. You think and many others think its so complicated, because they’ve not had the time/distance/experience, or they are lost in the details. Its very easy to get lost in the individual trees and forget we’ve entered a forest. Very easy. We’re taught to resist seeing that we’re even in a forest. That’s a myopic belief system that the planet can’t afford anymore.

    Max, because you disagree with me, doesn’t mean I’m lost or that any other people are lost. It means that we are living different realities, have had to deal with different things, and have different experiences. I may very well be confused, but suffice it to say that you probably are also. No one is 100% right on all the issues.

    I can see there is a forest, and I can see the trees in the forest and I can recognize the differences in the trees. The trees don’t have to be equated to one tree in order for me to sympathize or empathize with the trees or to recognize their value

    I have the same philosophy for those who disagree with me, even with genuine bonafide white supremacists. I recognize that their views are colored by their life experiences. So what may be wrong for me, is seen as right for them (as a means of their self-preservation). Even though, I disagree with the conclusions they come to, I do understand that because of their experiences they feel that this is the only way to preserve themselves. I don’t invalidate their personal experiences, I may tell them that I feel it is wrong and then I may point to the facts of the matter, but I very rarely say, “You’re wrong because you’re confused.” There are many sides of rightness and what is right for you may not be right for me. There is no majority mentality rule that will ever work for everyone. There is no common sense.

    How is it that you have been able to distance yourself from it, when you live in the same world that we do? A trip to Paris by a black american who is intellectually stable, doesn’t at all speak to the racism and anti-semitism that is experienced by others in France without the access you have. You know what I mean? Let’s ask Arabs, North Africans, West Africans, Jews if there’s racism in France? You felt liberated, but your liberation was not the liberation of all people. In America, and different parts of France while you felt liberated, some people felt shackled. There’s no where we can run to, in which we are no longer part of some sort of society, unless of course we’re hermits.

    I’d like to think that what you’re saying is that you’ve moved beyond it. Fine. What I’m saying is, moving beyond it is not enough. People who are poor can’t eat the social construct argument from class, and people who are seriously afflicted by racism cannot eat the social construct argument of race. What they know is what they experience. It’s a complex issue because it is complex, not because I make it complex.

    You’re saying you study human behavior, but from whose point of view do you study it? Yours and what you see isn’t necessarily what an anthropolgist sees, isn’t neccessarily what I would see. Which means that both of us have very valid points based on our experiences and what we have gleened from information.

    Also, I’d like to point out that while recently we have been trained to dehumanize people, wars were not always fought this way. You’re talking about a western stance. Many aboriginal and indigenous peoples did not have to see their “enemies” as dogs in order to make war with them. Their enemies were human and this didn’t stop the killing.

  35. Free Slave: Nappy: We just disagree. I’m not sure you do, I think it’s more like, you’re talking about two different, though interrelated topics. Both talking on both topics, but responding to different ones. How does one feel (about race and identity) is one, and how does one analyze the world situation on these issues, is the other — although I am not sure I’m articulating them very well right now, it’s late.

    On ‘conspiracies’ – yeah, there are a few, and then there’s Clampett’s ‘fractal’ idea, and then there’s overdetermination, my favorite: multiple, sometimes entirely independent factors coming together to make an outcome inevitable. It’s as though it were a conspiracy, but it’s actually stronger and scarier, because it doesn’t even need a secret meeting and a master plan or mastermind…

  36. Nappy

    “…These identities, outside of my blackness, or my southern-ness or my American-ness, are important. I’m not willing to tell someone in Africa that identifies as Massai, Igbo, or Sudanese that their identity is unimportant and they have throw that away to get to the point of us all being human beings. I can have identities and still recognize the need for unity in people….”

    I agree and still think we aren’t so far apart in overlapping ideas.

    You skipped the step, I said “process the identity” then throw it away. And I’m not even sure what throwing it away looks like since I’ve never made it that far 🙂 Actually that’s not true. I’ve worked on some things that I held tightly to–the case that comes to mind is of a crush, an obsession on a person–I processed that and was terrified that I’d lose my connection with the person if I didn’t act on the crush. But that was not what happened. The real part of that was love–and I actually had a more real and present connection after that. So that stayed. I threw away the old longing that was not about them.

    I don’t expect you to throw away something that’s important to you.

    Because whatever is left over after discharging is real. You can’t process away Truth. Who you are won’t go away. And I also would not ask the African individuals to deny their roots and family heritage.

    My guess is whatever it is about our identities that merely pits us against each other isn’t helpful.

    Thanks for your response.

  37. Max, I was out hunting possums and I struck some oil by accident.

    Come drop by my place and take your share of the loot.

  38. huh…
    I have always thought…
    race is real, we are genetically different…
    color is real, hues of color allow for difference…

    but then, I also believe I am not my body, I just picked this shiny white model to toole around in life with…lol

    embracing our difference is the goal…

    being jealous…petty…greedy…blaming others…not tolerating what is different…that is the problem.

  39. Free, I love this post. I don’t think I paid close attention to it the other day. It’s wonderful. I’m going to think about this for a few days and then come back and reread it.

    Brilliant!

  40. Wow you are awesome!! I was very very moved!! Bookmarking…..

Leave a Reply

