Call This Post Anything…

I love the caliber of truthseekers and tellers who have begun to grace this blog; thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!!!!

And thank you to the old standbys and you know who you are.

I even love those of you who have bailed and have reduced yourself to periodic lurking status.  I’m honored to note your presence, even if its only to check and see if I’m talking about you.

In other old news…

AskWhy said: “When we white people act as part of this system we are SO MUCH BIGGER in our effect than we would be as individual humans, because our actions are backed by the weight of the whole system somehow.”

Yes, when white progressives in particular take these stances, that they are somehow exempt because of their “intentions” or “positions,” “Bob Marley record collection,” or “education” its a quadruple whammy.  Thus, my belief that racism is a mental illness on steroids.

When people who have read Alice Walker and Foucalt, folks who have a broader intellectual palette, yet think that automatically means deeper – Houston, we have a problem.

When I first got into recovery, I remember someone saying alcoholism is a “feeling disease.” Well, I think racism, if it is to be healed/cured, must be “felt into.”  A white head will not breakthrough; only a white heart can, a heart unafraid to be called “racist”, unwilling to take their eye off of the prize of understanding this disease.  A white heart can lead a white intellect, but not the other way around.  It won’t happen.  White folks have to allow themselves to be shattered by their racism- not my accusation of racism.

To accuse a white person of racism is like accusing a living person of breathing.  When you hear those words, you should say ‘thank you, may I have another.  Show me the way, show me what I missed.’

I have a bigtime problem with all of those people who fled the “RAMI” conversation because their “feelings got hurt.”  They used their paper tissue feelings, impregnable arguments and political affiliations to retreat into what?  Racism/White Supremacy.  That is the ‘default operating system of the White Western World. (I didn’t realize that that’s what www. meant on the Internet!!)

To be teachable, humble in the face of black thought, is unthinkable, unimaginable.  They come back to see if the heat is off, but it ain’t.  I submit that those whites who AskWhy was describing are the greatest impediment to justice for people of color because they REFUSE to see that they are the product of the white supremacist system.  And unlike the conscious racist who can tell you to your face that they hate you and are against you, the liberal racist will insist that they are your friend while selling you – accidentally/on purpose – down the river.  They won’t realize it on one level; but on another, they are defending white turf.

Their only hope is to see themselves in the reflection of those people honest enough to reflect back to them the full measure of themselves.

Now, how do we people of color save ourselves?

How do we develop some black, sepia unity?

How do we destroy the ‘Willie Lynch syndrome’ before it kills us???

To be continued…..

6 Responses to “Call This Post Anything…”

  1. Well, I think racism, if it is to be healed/cured, must be “felt into.” A white head will not breakthrough; only a white heart can, a heart unafraid to be called “racist”, unwilling to take their eye off of the prize of understanding this disease. A white heart can lead a white intellect, but not the other way around. It won’t happen. White folks have to allow themselves to be shattered by their racism- not my accusation of racism.

    YES.

    I’ve got nothing in particular to contribute. I just wanted to notice how wonderfully articulated that was.

  2. The main white thing I notice from reading through these and other threads – the big obstacle – is that white wants to be first. It’s like not being able to face not getting an A every single time. I do not know why it seems to be so hard for so many people to relax out of that, but there it is.

  3. I agree with Kate. That’s a stellar set of lines there. And I’m going to do a quick link to this post specifically. You get at some crucial stuff here. Many White “progressive” (whatever that is) are sort of like the slaveholders before the 13th Amendment in that they like to promise to free their slaves in their wills–after they themselves have died–knowing full well that this process will depend on whoever’s left behind to follow through. And reserving the right until they stop breathing (as you so aptly put it) to remain slaveholders (as it were).

  4. Greetings Lubangakene… I loved your http://www.=White Western World! Classic!

    Blessings.
    Asa

  5. When whites learn to “share” the power, we will have gone a long way to erasing racism in this country. Personally, I feel we are long way from that happening, because they have not seen a compelling reason to do so.

    I just happened across this blog this evening and will definitely add it to my BlogRoll, so that I will visit on a regular basis. Good job!

Leave a Reply

