Malcolm X

My hero, my idol, my role model.

‘To have once been a criminal is no disgrace. To remain a criminal is the disgrace. I formerly was a criminal. I formerly was in prison. I’m not ashamed of that. You never can use that over my head… I don’t feel that stick.

They charged Jesus with sedition. Didn’t they do that? They said he was against Caesar. They said he was discriminating because he told his disciples, “Go not the way of the gentiles, but rather go to the lost sheep.” Go to the people who don’t know who they are, who are lost from the knowledge of themselves and who are strangers in a land that is not theirs. Go to these people. Go to the slaves. Go to the second-class citizens. Go to the ones who are suffering the brunt of Caesar’s brutality.

And if Jesus were here in America today, he wouldn’t be going to the white man. The white man is the oppressor. He would be going to the oppressed. He would be going to the humble. He would be going to the lowly. He would be going to the rejected and the despised. He would be going to the so-called American negro.’

7 Responses to “Malcolm X”

  1. Grace and Peace

    So I read this and then I read it again out loud, so that my own ears could hear. There’s a poem that I might send you…I just have to find it.

    Thank you

    Grace and Peace
    Bliss

  2. I love that; when/where did he say it?

  3. Sylvia,

    This speech was given in 1962 in Los Angeles. It was a part of the documentary “Make It Plain.” You can find an excerpt of it on Youtube or maybe Google Video. To read the words is one thing; but to hear him say this – priceless!

  4. he was and is right on.

  5. The words of my family. Because some of them believed strongly in the words of Malcolm while the rest were clinging to the words of Martin.

    Thank you for giving me a place to send those white liberals in my life who think that they know everything.

  6. How funny is it that something said 22 years befor I was even born is still relevant today?

    The more things change…

Leave a Reply

