The Last Honest White Boy

By Maxjulian

March 14, 2007

Category: Uncategorized

7 Comments »

“There’s a time when the operation of the machine becomes so odious, makes you so sick at heart, that you can’t take part, you can’t even passively take part, and you’ve got to put your bodies upon the gears and upon the wheels, upon the levers, upon all the apparatus, and you’ve got to make it stop! And you’ve got to indicate to the people who run it, to the people who own it, that unless you’re free, the machine will be prevented from working at all!”

Mario Savio

7 Responses to “The Last Honest White Boy”

  1. That speech is why I adore the word odious. I met Mario in the eighties when I was doing organizing around University divestiture. I hunted him down ruthlessly as he was, and still is despite is demise, one of my utter and complete heroes. Despite a committment to a private life, he came to visit me with grace. It was an amazing, amazing afternoone.

    He was a quiet spoken man and I felt in the presence of greatness.

  2. Wow! Now that had to be an amazing experience. He was deep.

  3. He was deep. He was also a bit broken by his life and the price or being a revolutionary. He was a cautionary tale… his choices exacted a toll from his soul and spirit. I only wish I had been more mature, less starstruck, and able to ‘get’ what he talked about more. He did, however, hugely influence me in my path. He made me aware that there would be a price paid for my choices, my decision to say no, to challenge the privelage I was born into by my skintone, my class, my education… to this day the footage of him on the police car moves my soul, makes me believe that anything is possible —- and now, within, 48 hours I move to Berkeley- the place of his words and inspiration…

  4. What’s up in Berkeley?

    I used to live there. Little too much for me at the time, the pace, the money scene. The Bay has some high-highs but also some low-lows. There’s a higher HIGHER consciousness and and LOWER lower consciousness. Kind of weird. Did a lot of exploring of parts of myself that I had never dealt with.

  5. MJ

    We are moving to Berkeley because –

    -Our rent-controlled ride in SF just ended
    -We cannot afford to live a sane life in SF and because of gentrification there are really no more integrated neighborhoods
    -We are moving into a neighborhood with a visible black working and middle class -we want our daughter to grow in that environment
    -Berkeley is one of the few Bay Area school districts without utterly dismal stats for black kids – and we want our daughter to be seen for her brilliance
    -We keep getting really sick because our building is filled with mold here in SF (we have been hospitalized a few times with life-threatening lung infections) and we want to dry out our lungs and sinuses and we are tired of fighting for our rights here
    -Mr. Bitch loves to garden and he has a huge garden over there
    -And in Berkeley we could afford to rent a house with a cottage in the back – so I can write in peace

    I have a lot trepidation about moving to Berkeley as the whole white PC culture thing works my last nerve – but the focus in on creating the best environment for our daughter. So, as a life long urbanite – with a few years down the coast while attending and then teaching at UCSC – I am leaving my beloved urbaness… for life near the Ashby BART. We are close to the Oakland border so we have the richness of both cities at our beck and call.

  6. Hey, BWB, get the HELL out of that mold for real. That shit is a killa!

Leave a Reply

