An Interlude…

By Maxjulian

July 6, 2007

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments »

“I don’t think I have a completely original style, though I do have an identity. An identity is when someone who knows jazz can say, ‘that’s Lee Morgan playing,’ but my basic style is composed of a strong Fats Navarro/Clifford Brown influence, and Miles and Dizzy, and then again a Bud and Bird thing. I think a definite style comes with living and experience and travelling until you play what you are, you play yourself on the horn.”

2 Responses to “An Interlude…”

  1. So true! Ones thoughts or feelings will be expressed one way or the other. It’s been a while. Hello to you sir.

  2. Oh. my. God. This is why YouTube is becoming my new best friend. This clip reminds me of why I laid my soul on the altar of jazz when I was still in my teens. And why sometimes, you just can’t applaud when the song is over. It would be disrespectful.

Leave a Reply

